The Walk Away to Heaven: Bandipur

The Bandipurians led a simple lifestyle with artistic houses and baazars offering captivating hospitality, food and architecture

Saurav Thapa Shrestha
4 min readJan 28, 2021
Bandipur Village

“Bandipur is a living museum of Newari culture, a beautifully preserved village crowning a lofty ridge above the highway stop of Dumre. Its winding lanes are lined with traditional Newari houses. Time seems to have stood still here….. “ — Lonely Planet

Amid the spellbinding mountains and pristine forest, I could hear my breath filling with delight as I tootled towards the traditional town at a hilltop settlement for the fourth time. This mesmerizing world of its own had offered me something new in each visit and this time was no less. The panoramic Himalayan range fell upon my view the moment I reached Bandipur and without a second thought, I followed my heart to wanderlust.

Bandipur as seen from the eastern side on the way to Bandipur Adventure Camp

The encumbrance of city errands and dust that I had brought along seemed to die out a way as I captured some breathtaking views of the Himalayans with my camera. The blend of serene environment and the traditional beauty of the Newa culture that Bandipur exhibits are magnificent. The tranquil environment offered me peace of my heart which I didn’t know had gone astray amidst the chaotic urban life. I could only breathe and capture its magic through my weary eyes. I returned to the Bandipur Guest House, where I had checked in earlier, with those magic embedded in my heart. The peaceful sleep in the tranquility of heaven led me into another mystical day with a short morning hike to Thanimai Temple. Even at the end of January, the blissful air came breezing towards my face only to soothe my heart. I merrily enjoyed the first vivacity of the sun from the hilltop slowly rising from the catholic horizon. This morning fog that covered the entire traditional Newa village into a fairy-like scenery is what keeps me pushing back to Bandipur.

Bandipur’s Old Settlement | Taken: Dec, 2015 | Photographs: Sworup Images
Siddhi Cave/Siddha Gufa | Photographs: Sworup Images

I couldn’t resist going back to the traditional Newa town square filled with motivated and humble individuals to spend my afternoon. These conventional Bandipurians led a simple lifestyle with artistic houses and bazaars offering captivating hospitality, food, and architecture. Bandipur and Bandipurians have a remarkable approach when it comes to protecting their culture and lifestyle. The politically and socially significant library standing tall in the middle of Bandipur just adds up to the touch of the beautiful aroma the hilltop village provides. The Notre Dame School, established by the British in 1985AD, has successfully built a landmark in education. The myriad of immaculate histories and beauty of the Bandipur would remain incomplete without talking about the magnificent Tundikhel and Siddha Cave. The eternalness that I received from the God-like figures formed in the trees of the 1005m above located Tundikhel gave me a sensation of the medieval-era. Wandering around the hill trails, the longest cave of Nepal was the most enthralling route that I had decided to take upon. I captured all that I could from the perpetuity of the picturesque landscapes, heaven like mountains, and architectures untouched by modernization.

Siddhi Cave/Siddha Gufa | Photographs: Sworup Images

You can allow yourself to stroll as much as your feet can bear with the glorious Himalayans enchanted before you. The breathtaking views and serenity of the traditional Newa Village help you escape from the nuisance of city life and guides you to the walk to heaven.

The Ganesh Himal mountain range as seen from Bandipur | Photographs: Sworup Images
Khadga Devi Temple (Left) and Notre Dame Secondary School (Right) | Photographs: Sworup Images
Marsyangdi Valley covered with clouds as seen from Bandipur Adventure Camp | Photographs: Sworup Images

A big thanks to Sabiya Shah for improving the structure and tone of this write-up. Date: March 4, 2017

--

--